Mid-February Update

Just a little progress report…

I have just finished Secret Seven 14: Look Out, Secret Seven, which involved birds’ nest robbers and stolen war medals.  I have also finished Into The Darkest Corner, The 100 Year Old Man Who Climbed Out of a Window and Disappeared, read a little more Little Women and started a new book – How To Be a Woman by Caitlin Moran (her autobiography).

I enjoyed the Secret Seven book – a quick read and only read as I wanted to do another Fun Trivia quiz (I have done the whole set of Secret Seven book quizzes so far and only one more to go till they’re all done).

I also enjoyed the Hundred Year Old Man book, although not as much as I expected to.  It reminded me a lot of “The Curious Dog Book” (as I call it) by Mark Haddon.  The story is a bit silly and meandering, and I did wonder whether the author knew where it was going to end when he started it.  It is written in the present day and the past (within the old man’s life) and it was a bit jarring when it would suddenly switch.  There was a lot of ‘sillified’ history in the past-life story and I struggled with that because I don’t know my history well enough, but I stuck with it through the boring bits and understood it better in the end.  I did just want to get to the finish though and have it be over, so that’s not a great review from me.

Into The Darkest Corner was a pretty good read and stuck with me for a few days afterwards.  It was slightly repetitive when describing her OCD – the endless checking and rechecking of her doors and windows – but that is the nature of OCD and it warranted repetition.  The book was written as part of NaNoWriMo, so that probably helped with the word count! 🙂

Little Women is just going along slowly as it’s an audiobook I tend to listen to on the way to work (when I get easily distracted and have to backtrack a lot) or to fall asleep to at night (when I fall asleep and have to backtrack the next day…).  I’m liking it so far though, it’s just…easy reading.  I know that one of the girls dies in the end, and I know who it is, but I don’t know anything else about it.

Leave a Reply

